Roll Call of Abortion Bill Override Vote in the Massachusetts House of Representatives

Printed from:

The Massachusetts House of Representatives overrode a veto of Governor Charlie Baker of the abortion bill on Monday, December 28, 2020.

The vote was 107 Yea, 46 Nay, 1 Present, and 4 Not Voting.  (The total number of representatives at the time of the vote was 158, because two seats were vacant.)

The abortion bill would eliminate language in current state law requiring that a doctor try to save the life of a baby born after an attempted abortion; would allow 16-year-old and 17-year-old girls to get an abortion without getting permission from a parent or a judge; and would explicitly allow abortions after 24 weeks in cases where a fetus has been diagnosed with a condition likely to lead to death not long after birth.

Below is a roll call on Massachusetts House Bill 5179.

A Yes vote in red is for the abortion bill.  A No vote in blue is against the abortion bill.  “Present” means the state representative registered his presence but did not vote either Yes or No. “Not Voting” means the member did not vote on the bill.



Republicans (1)


James Kelcourse (R-Amesbury)


Democrats (105)


James Arciero (D-Westford)

Bruce Ayers (D-Quincy)

Ruth Balser (D-Newton)

Christine Barber (D-Somerville)

John Barrett III (D-North Adams)

David Biele (D-South Boston)

Natalie Blais (D-Sunderland)

Antonio Cabral (D-New Bedford)

Daniel Cahill (D-Lynn)

Peter Capano (D-Lynn)

Daniel Carey (D-Easthampton)

Gerard Cassidy (D-Brocton)

Tackey Chan (D-Quincy)

Michelle Ciccolo (D-Lexington)

Mike Connolly (D-Cambridge)

Edward Coppinger (D-West Roxbury)

Claire Cronin (D-Easton)

Mark Cusack (D-Braintree)

Josh Cutler (D-Duxbury)

Michael Seamus Day (D-Stoneham)

Marjorie Decker (D-Cambridge)

Robert DeLeo (D-Winthrop)

Carol Doherty (D-Taunton)

Mindy Domb (D-Amherst)

Daniel Donahue (D-Worcester)

William Driscoll (D-Milton)

Michelle Dubois (D-Brockton)

Carolyn Dykema (D-Holliston)

Lori Ehrlich (D-Marblehead)

Nika Elugardo (D-Jamaica Plain)

Tricia Farley-Bouvier (D-Pittsfield)

Dylan Fernandes (D-Falmouth)

Ann-Margaret Ferrante (D-Gloucester)

William Galvin (D-Canton)

Sean Garballey (D-Arlington)

Denise Garlick (D-Needham)

Carmine Gentile (D-Sudbury)

Thomas A. Golden Jr. (D-Lowell)

Carlos Gonzalez (D-Springfield)

Kenneth Gordon (D-Bedford)

Tami Gouveia (D-Acton)

Danielle Gregoire (D-Marlborough)

Patricia Haddad (D-Somerset)

Richard Haggerty (D-Woburn)

James Hawkins (D-Attleboro)

Stephan Hay (D-Fitchburg)

Jonathan Hecht (D-Watertown)

Christopher Hendricks (D-New Bedford)

Natalie Higgins (D-Leominster)

Kate Hogan (D-Stow)

Kevin Honan (D-Brighton)

Daniel Hunt (D-Dorchester)

Louis Kafka (D-Stoughton)

Patrick Joseph Kearney (D-Scituate)

Mary Keefe (D-Worcester)

Kay Khan (D-Newton)

Kathleen LaNatra (D-Kingston)

John Lawn (D-Watertown)

David LeBoeuf (D-Worcester)

Jack Lewis (D-Framingham)

David Linsky (D-Natick)

Kate Lipper-Garabedian (D-Melrose)

Jay Livingstone (D-Back Bay)

Adrian Madaro (D-East Boston)

John J. Mahoney (D-Worcester)

Elizabeth Malia (D-Jamaica Plain)

Ronald Mariano (D-Quincy)

Paul Mark (D-Peru)

Joan Meschino (D-Hull)

Aaron Michlewitz (D-North End)

Christina Minicucci (D-North Andover)

Liz Miranda (D-Roxbury)

Rady Mom (D-Lowell)

Frank Moran (D-Lawrence)

Michael Moran (D-Brighton)

James M. Murphy (D-Weymouth)

Brian Murray (D-Milford)

Tram Nguyen (D-Andover)

James O’Day (D-West Boylston)

Jerald Parisella (D-Beverly)

Sarah Peake (D-Provincetown)

Alice Peisch (D-Wellesley)

Smitty Pignatelli (D-Lenox)

Denise Provost (D-Somerville)

Maria Robinson (D-Framingham)

David Rogers (D-Cambridge)

Jeffrey Roy (D-Franklin)

Daniel Ryan (D-Charlestown)

Lindsay Sabadosa (D-Northampton)

Jon Santiago (D-South End)

Danillo Sena (D-Acton)

Theodore Speliotis (D-Danvers)

Thomas Stanley (D-Waltham)

William Straus (D-Mattapoisett)

Jose Tosado (D-Springfield)

Paul Tucker (D-Salem)

Chynah Tyler (D-Roxbury)

Steven Ultrino (D-Malden)

Andres Vargas (D-Haverhill)

Aaron Vega (D-Holyoke)

Tommy Vitolo (D-Brookline)

Joseph Wagner (D-Chicopee)

Thomas Walsh (D-Peabody)

Bud Williams (D-Springfield)

Jonathan Zlotnik (D-Gardner)


Unenrolled (1)


Susannah Whipps (I-Athol)







Republicans (30)


Jay Barrows (R-Mansfield)

Donald Berthiaume (R-Spencer)

Nicholas Boldyga (R-Southwick)

William Crocker (R-Centerville)

David DeCoste (R-Norwell)

Angelo D’Emilia (R-Bridgewater)

Shawn Dooley (R-Norfolk)

Peter Durant (R-Spencer)

Kimberly Ferguson (R-Holden)

Paul Frost (R-Auburn)

Susan Gifford (R-Wareham)

Sheila Harrington (R-Groton)

Bradford Hill (R-Ipswich)

Steven Howitt (R-Seekonk)

Randy Hunt (R-Sandwich)

Bradley Jones (R-North Reading)

Hannah Kane (R-Shrewsbury)

Marc Lombardo (R-Billerica)

Joseph McKenna (R-Webster)

Lenny Mirra (R-Georgetown)

David Muradian (R-Grafton)

Mathew Muratore (R-Plymouth)

Norman Orrall (R-Lakeville)

Elizabeth Poirier (R-North Attleborough)

Todd Smola (R-Warren)

Michael Soter (R-Bellingham)

Alyson Sullivan (R-Abington)

David Vieira (R-Falmouth)

Timothy Whelan (R-Brewster)

Donald Wong (R-Saugus)


Democrats (16)

Brian Ashe (D-Longmeadow)

Linda Campbell (D-Methuen)

Paul Donato (D-Medford)

Michael Finn (D-West Springfield)

Colleen Garry (D-Dracut)

Russell Holmes (D-Mattapan)

Christopher Markey (D-Dartmouth)

Joseph McGonagle (D-Everett)

Paul McMurtry (D-Dedham)

Harold Naughton (D-Worcester)

Angelo Puppolo (D-Springfield)

David Robertson (D-Tewksbury)

John Rogers (D-Norwood)

Paul Schmid (D-Westport)

Alan Silvia (D-Fall River)

RoseLee Vincent (D-Revere)



Present (1)

Marcos Devers (D-Lawrence)


Not Voting (4)

Carole Fiola (D-Fall River)

David Nangle (D-Lowell)

Thomas Petrolati (D-Ludlow)

Angelo Scaccia (D-Hyde Park)