Roll Call of Abortion Bill Override Vote in the Massachusetts Senate

Printed from:

The Massachusetts Senate overrode a veto of Governor Charlie Baker of the abortion bill on Tuesday, December 29, 2020.

The vote was 32 Yea to 8 Nay. (All 40 state senators voted. No senators voted Present.)

“Yea” is equivalent to Yes.  “Nay” is equivalent to No. The Yes side got 75 percent, well more than the two-thirds needed to override the veto.

All 32 Yes votes came from Democrats. All four Republicans voted No, as did four Democrats.

The abortion bill would eliminate language in current state law requiring that a doctor try to save the life of a baby born after an attempted abortion; would allow 16-year-old and 17-year-old girls to get an abortion without getting permission from a parent or a judge; and would explicitly allow abortions after 24 weeks in cases where a fetus has been diagnosed with a condition likely to lead to death not long after birth.

The Massachusetts House of Representatives voted to override the governor’s veto on Monday, December 28, 2020, 107 to 46, which is also above the two-thirds needed. A roll call of state representatives is available by clicking here.

Below is a roll call from the Massachusetts Senate on Massachusetts House Bill 5179.

Yes vote in red is for the abortion bill.  A No vote in blue is against the abortion bill.


Massachusetts Senate




Democrats (32)


Michael Barrett (D-Lexington)

Joseph Boncore (D-Winthrop)

Michael Brady (D-Brockton)

William Brownsberger (D-Belmont)

Harriette Chandler (D-Worcester)

Sonia Chang-Diaz (D-Jamaica Plain)

Joanne Comerford (D-Northampton)

Cynthia Creem (D-Newton)

Brendan Crighton (D-Lynn)

Julian Cyr (D-Truro)

Sal DiDomenico (D-Everett)

Diana DiZoglio (D-Methuen)

James Eldridge (D-Acton)

Paul Feeney (D-Foxborough)

Barry Finegold (D-Andover)

Cindy Friedman (D-Arlington)

Anne Gobi (D-Spencer)

Adam Hinds (D-Pittsfield)

Patricia Jehlen (D-Somerville)

John F. Keenan (D-Quincy)

Edward J. Kennedy (D-Lowell)

Eric Lesser (D-Longmeadow)

Jason Lewis (D-Winchester)

Joan Lovely (D-Salem)

Mark Montigny (D-New Bedford)

Michael Moore (D-Millbury)

Susan Moran (D-Falmouth)

Rebecca Rausch (D-Needham)

Michael Rodrigues (D-Westport)

Marc Pacheco (D-Taunton)

Karen Spilka (D-Ashland)

James Welch (D-West Springfield)







Republicans (4)


Ryan Fattman (R-Webster)

Patrick O’Connor (R-Weymouth)

Bruce Tarr (R-Gloucester)

Dean Tran (R-Fitchburg)


Democrats (4)


Nick Collins (D-South Boston)

Michael Rush (D-West Roxbury)

Walter Timilty (D-Milton)

John Velis (D-Westfield)