Around New England

Connecticut May Start Fining People From Certain States Who Enter State Without Quarantining

July 22, 2020

If people enter Connecticut from certain states and don’t quarantine, they could face fines of up to $1,000.

Governor Ned Lamont, a Democrat, is considering putting a fine in place for people coming from a myriad of states if they don’t quarantine for two weeks. Visitors can avoid the fine if they have tested negative for coronavirus in the past 72 hours before entering the state, according to

There are 22 states on the list that people can’t travel freely from to Connecticut.  They are states where more than 10 per 100,000 residents are testing positive for coronavirus or there has been greater than a 10 percent positive test rate for the virus over a seven day span.

No states in the Northeast are on the list. The states are in the South, the Midwest, and West.



Read More