Around New England

Rhode Island Bans Marriages Under 18

June 14, 2021

Marrying under the age of 18 is now illegal in Rhode Island.

The state’s Democratic governor, Dan McKee, signed Rhode Island House Bill 5387 into law last week. Previously, the state would grant marriage licenses to 16- and 17-year-olds with consent from a parent or guardian. However, now each person must be at least 18 years old to get a marriage license in the state, according to The Christian Post.

This makes Rhode Island the fifth state to outlaw underage marriage. All five of those bans have come in the past few years. As of 2018, marrying below the age of 18 was legal in every state in the country in some form or another.

Other states that have outlawed child marriage include:  Delaware, New Jersey, Minnesota, and Pennsylvania.

 

New to NewBostonPost?  Conservative media is hard to find in Massachusetts.  But you’ve found it.  Now dip your toe in the water for two bucks — $2 for two months.  And join the real revolution.

 

Comments

comments


Read More