Boston council recognizes under-35 leaders

Printed from:

Five standout young Bostonians will share their personal stories and showcase their ideas on how to make the city a better place at a meeting tonight of the ONEin3 Council, which was formed in 2004 to help the city’s millennial population become more engaged in civic life.

The five presenters were drawn from 13 award recipients whose work has been recognized as helping to make the city a better place to live, according to a statement from the mayor’s office. After the presentations, members of the audience will vote on which of the five was the most compelling and that person will receive the group’s 2015 Impact Award as well as a small grant.

“Boston is known for having the best and the brightest talent, and I want to thank this year’s honorees for all their efforts towards making Boston an even better place to live, work and play,” Mayor Marty Walsh said Thursday in a statement. “The work that ONEin3 does to engage our young population in the issues that impact them the most is a critically important part of our efforts to move the city forward for everyone.”

The events at 2 International Place will follow a reception that begins at 6 p.m. and both are open to the public. Those who attend will be asked for an optional donation, with $25 the recommended amount. Liz Powers of ArtLifting and the 2014 Impact award winner, will serve as host. Tickets can be obtained online here.

The categories used as a focus for this year’s award recipients were: Housing and Mobility; Environment; Design and Open Space; Health, Prosperity and Equity; and Arts, Culture and Creativity. They were laid out by Walsh for the Imagine Boston 2030 program. Walsh will also make remarks at the event.

The evening’s five presenters will be: Aeron Hodges of Stantec & WHAT’S IN; Jonathan Feinman, of InnerCity Weightlifting; John Matthews Borders IV, of the Boston Celtics; Zoe Barry, of ZappRX, and Brad McNamara of Freight Farms, according to ONEin3. All are under 35 years of age.

The other award recipients this year were identified as: Matt George of Bridj; Enrico Palmerino of ThinkLite & SmartBooks; Latoya Baskin of Janey Construction Management; Justin Kang of City Awake; Moises Cohen of BUILD; Adrian Anantawan of Conservatory Lab Charter School; Nicole Fichera of District Hall, and Stephen Hamilton of Arts Connect International.

All 13 award recipients were nominated by their peers and selected by members of the council as well as leaders of Boston civic organizations.

ONEin3's origins and focus

ONEin3’s origins and focus